Music Born Of Fear Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5

Opinions

Following its premiere there was widespread speculation—from an ‘official’ review by Alexei Tolstoy to Shostakovich’s son Maxim’s remarks many years later—about just what Shostakovich was saying. Reading how others interpreted the music may help you decide what you think this controversial symphony means.

alexey tolstoy

“This movement is a light-hearted respite from what had come before.”
—Alexei Tolstoy

But Shostakovich’s son Maxim disagreed with Alexei Tolstoy and offered a much more sinister interpretation.

Maxim Shostakovich

“The critics call the second movement a Mahlerian waltz. I strongly disagree. Mahler was in his tradition, but this is not a waltz. It is the aggression of a soulless negative force. A machine of destruction."
—Maxim Shostakovich

Clearly the music affords widely varying interpretations. Compare the way that Maxim describes the tune of the Trio with the descriptions by Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony's concertmaster, Alexander Barantschik:

MTT

“And then there’s a deluxe dance master with his little kit violin and his rubato raffiné.”
—Michael Tilson Thomas

Alexander Barantschik

“In the middle of that movement, suddenly a little ballerina starts a dance given to the violin solo.”
—Alexander Barantschik

Maxim Shostakovich

“Reh. 57, a violin solo, is a child’s voice from beneath a soldier’s boot. It is not a waltz. The flute repeats the solo, a defiant fist is raised.”
—Maxim Shostakovich


What's Your Reaction?

alikhan_095
March 4, 2015

I finally found great post here.I will get back here. I just added your blog to my bookmark sites. thanks.Quality posts is the crucial to invite the visitors to visit the web page, that's what this web page is providing. iPhone fixed

alikhan_095
March 4, 2015

This is a wonderful article, Given so much info in it, These type of articles keeps the users interest in the website, and keep on sharing more ... good luck. healing retreat thailand

alikhan_095
March 3, 2015

It should be noted that whilst ordering papers for sale at paper writing service, you can get unkind attitude. In case you feel that the bureau is trying to cheat you, don't buy term paper from it. All Blog Tips

alikhan_095
March 3, 2015

The matter you've highlighted above is surely valueable for anyone to workout. the concept of your article is very true and It will result in a positive way.http://theofficialwebsite.co/christian-h-girlfriend-activation-system-review/

alikhan_095
March 3, 2015

I just got to this amazing site not long ago. I was actually captured with the piece of resources you have got here. Big thumbs up for making such wonderful blog page! http://www.adoptconsulting.com/giving-a-child-up-for-adoption/

alikhan_095
March 2, 2015

I was very pleased to find this site.I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.abandoned places

alikhan_095
March 2, 2015

I most likely appreciating each and every bit of it. It is an incredible site and decent impart. I need to much obliged. Great employment! You all do an incredible blog, and have some extraordinary substance. Keep doing awesome.Informationen

alikhan_095
February 28, 2015

You might comment on the order system of the blog. You should chat it's splendid. Your blog audit would swell up your visitors. I was very pleased to find this site.I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.AppDazzle

alikhan_095
February 28, 2015

I most likely appreciating each and every bit of it. It is an incredible site and decent impart. I need to much obliged. Great employment! You all do an incredible blog, and have some extraordinary substance. Keep doing awesome.clash of clans gem hack | hack boom beach

alikhan_095
February 27, 2015

Exclsive & best online bookmakers you will extremely enjoying betting and online gambling. The most popular and actual bookmakers. All of them are offering a variety of betting options, bonus programs and other promotions. Mobile application available on Itunes or Google Play. Moe detailed here : silentbet.com

Post Your Reaction