Music Born Of Fear Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5

Opinions

Following its premiere there was widespread speculation—from an ‘official’ review by Alexei Tolstoy to Shostakovich’s son Maxim’s remarks many years later—about just what Shostakovich was saying. Reading how others interpreted the music may help you decide what you think this controversial symphony means.

Despite differing opinions, every one agrees that Shostakovich’s dramatic opening is powerfully symbolic.

alexey tolstoy

 “The symphony describes the formation of a personality ... In the first movement the composer-hero suffers a psychological crisis.”
—Alexei Tolstoy, Writer and Deputy to the USSR Supreme Soviet in Izvestiya, December 28, 1937

Shostakovich

“The beginning of the piece tells of man with all his sufferings.”
—in the article, “My Creative Answer,” presumably by Shostakovich, in the Literaturenaya gazeta, January 12, 1938

Maxim Shostakovich

“Stormy introduction. Intense. Not fast. ‘Listen to me! I am going to speak now!’”
—Maxim Shostakovich, the composer’s son

 


What's Your Reaction?

alex12
February 25, 2015

Laboratorio de análisis clínicos en Clínica DAM, calle Marqués de Jura Real, 12, 28019 Madrid, teléfono 91 460 80 00.Más del 70 por ciento de todas las decisiones de salud se basan en la información vital proporcionada por los análisis clínicos realizados en los laboratorios.Nuestro servicio al cliente atiende con rapidez sus demandas sobre el estado de los análisis, instrucciones sobre manipulación de especímenes o petición de análisis.Analisis de Orina

alex12
February 22, 2015

I will be interested in more similar topics. i see you got really very useful topics, i will be always checking your blog thanks. enterprise cloud software

Jessica
February 20, 2015

Your post is one of the better that I have read. Thank you for putting this information into one place. I was exactly searching for. Thanks for such post and please keep it up. clicking here

alex12
February 19, 2015

I am basically satisfied with your great work.you put truly supportive data. Keep it up.find here

uali20
February 13, 2015

Great, This specific net webpage is seriously thrilling and enjoyment to learn. I’m an enormous fan from the subjects mentioned. online urdu news

jenefee
February 10, 2015

I have not much time to visit many websites. But today I found this site accidently. I explored much information which is useful to my life. Thanks! Judi Bola Sbobet

zoerachel44
February 3, 2015

The objective of a hockey game could be to advance any ball together with score points within the other organizations end area. The football are usually advanced by just throwing it even to another player which is known as a passing execute or lugging it which is known as a running execute. http://www.scorespro.com/american-football/

khan12
January 31, 2015

Oakville Wedding Limousine I wish to recognize that this is the bulk of finest meaning of which I've indeed examined. Actually, it truly is. The following are utterly totally astonished by this dispatch. I love to watch deep another info couriers love this.

khan12
January 28, 2015

The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesn’t disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought you’d have something interesting to say. Social media news

alikhan_095
January 26, 2015

First You got a great blog .I will be interested in more similar topics. i see you got really very useful topics, i will be always checking your blog thanks. serta iseries mattress

Post Your Reaction